2022-2023 Undergraduate Academic Catalog

Glen Duerr, Associate Professor of International Studies. Education: B.A., University of Western Ontario, 2003; M.A., University of Windsor, 2005; Ph.D., Kent State, 2012. At Cedarville since 2012. Kyung-hwa Kim, Assistant Professor of International Studies. Education: B.A., Korea National Open University, 1993; M.A., Hankuk University of Foreign Studies, 1998; M.A., Syracuse University, 2005; Ph.D., Syracuse University, 2017. At Cedarville since 2018. Justin Lyons, Associate Professor of Political Science. Education: B.A., University of Wisconsin-River Falls, 1994; M.A., University of Toronto, 1995; M.A., University of Dallas, 1999; Ph.D., University of Dallas, 2003. At Cedarville since 2018. Thomas Mach, Vice President for Academics; Professor of History. Education: B.A., Cedarville University, 1988; M.A., Cleveland State University, 1989; Ph.D., University of Akron, 1996. At Cedarville since 2000. Steven Meacham, Associate Professor of Criminal Justice. Education: B.A., State University of New York at Albany, 1986; M.A., State University of New York at Albany, 2005. At Cedarville since 2019. Patrick Oliver, Associate Professor of Criminal Justice. Education: A.A., University of Cincinnati, 1977; B.A., Baldwin Wallace College, 1981; M.B.A., Baldwin Wallace College, 1991; Ph.D., Antioch University, 2013; Penn State University Police Executive School, 1989; FBI Law Enforcement Executive Development School, 1993; Ohio Association Chiefs of Police Executive Leadership College, 1994; Executive Management Institute, 1997. At Cedarville since 2005. Robert Parr, Senior Professor of Sociology. Education: B.R.E., Grand Rapids Baptist College, 1967; M.R.E., Grand Rapids Baptist Seminary, 1970; M.A., Michigan State University, 1982; M.S.W., The Ohio State University, 1990; Ph.D., The Ohio State University, 1987. At Cedarville since 1980. David Rich, Professor of Public Administration and Political Science. Education: B.A., Cedarville University, 1983; M.P.A., University of Dayton, 1988; D.P.A., Western Michigan University, 2006. At Cedarville since 2000. Stanley Schwartz, Instructor of History. Education: B.A. Cedarville University, 2018; Ph.D. candidate, Temple University. At Cedarville since 2022. Kevin Sims, Senior Professor of Political Science. Education: B.A., Cedarville University, 1974; M.A., University of Northern Iowa, 1978; Ph.D., The Claremont Graduate School, 1991. At Cedarville since 1990. Emeriti Frank Jenista, Professor Emeritus of International Studies. Education: B.A., Cedarville University, 1968; M.A., University of Dayton, 1970; Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1978. At Cedarville since 2000. Allen Monroe, Professor Emeritus of Social Science. Education: B.A., Shelton College, 1957; graduate study, University of Florida, 1958; M.A., Montclair State College, 1965; Ph.D., The Ohio State University, 1970; postdoctoral study, Westminster Theological Seminary, 1978. At Cedarville from 1965 to 2002. Murray Murdoch, Distinguished Professor of History. Education: B.Th., Baptist Bible Seminary, 1960; M.A., Northwestern University, 1962; History Faculty Fellow, Northwestern University, 1963; Ph.D., Northwestern University, 1971. At Cedarville since 1965. Model United Nations Team Model United Nations Team is a simulation of the United Nations system. Students assume the roles of ambassadors to the United Nations and negotiate current global issues. The Cedarville University Model UN Team participates in an intercollegiate competition in which participants seek to deal with complex global concerns such as the environment, economic development, refugees, AIDS, disarmament, and human rights. As representatives of UN member nations, team members must master a great deal of detailed information about national policies while remaining in character—responding to debates and negotiations in the same manner as a UN delegate from that nation. Omega Mu Omega Mu is the Cedarville University chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha – the National Political Science Honor Society. The goal of this honor society is to promote the scholarly investigation of politics and to assist its members in developing their leadership potential in their sphere of influence. Renaissance Guild Renaissance Guild increases learning and awareness of the medieval and Renaissance eras and provides fellowship with likeminded individuals. Center for Political Studies The Center for Political Studies at Cedarville University was founded to articulate a biblical view of government through the study of politics, law, history, and public policy; to educate Cedarville University faculty, staff, students, and constituents; and to engage and influence American political culture. The Center sponsors, among other programs, regular lecture series and an annual roundtable discussion of contemporary political issues. Career Opportunities Graduates of the department have attended some of the nation’s outstanding graduate and professional schools. Careers pursued by graduates include: • Administrator • Government worker • Archaeologist • High school teacher • Archivist • Historical researcher • Attorney • Librarian • Campaign Manager • Parole agent • City Manager • Politician • College Professor • Police officer • Community developer • Prison caseworker • Diplomat • Prison manager (warden) • Federal law enforcer • Probation officer • Forensic scientist • Public administrator Faculty Mark C. Smith, Chair, Professor of Political Science; Director, Center for Political Studies. Education: B.A., Bryan College, 1992; M.A., Trinity International University, 1995; M.A., University of Georgia, 1997; Ph.D., University of Georgia, 2001. At Cedarville since 2004. Robert Clark, Assistant Professor of History. Education: B.A., Calvary Bible College, 1986; M.A., Dallas Theological Seminary, 1991; M.A., Wichita State University, 2007; Ph.D., Kansas State University, 2017. At Cedarville since 2018. Marc Clauson, Professor of History and Law. Education: B.S., Marshall University, 1978; M.A., Marshall University, 1979; J.D., West Virginia University, 1982; M.Th., Liberty University, 1993; M.A., Liberty University, 1993; Ph.D., University of the Orange Free State, South Africa, 2001. At Cedarville since 2002. Page 136 2022–23 Undergraduate Academic Catalog Department of History and Government Center for Political Studies